Do you get overwhelmed when you come across confusing terms, acronyms while reading on Digital Marketing topics?
Do you see yourself referring to Google multiple times just to understand what the term means?
Being new to Digital Marketing, you will slowly begin to subconsciously start understanding all Digital Marketing terms.
Learning Online Marketing has stages, and as you gradually work your way up, you would not be taking pain to keep referring to search engines to understand what a particular term used in Digital Marketing article means.
However, Digital Marketing is a dynamic field, which means you would keep coming across something new and worth learning every few weeks. So just keep grinding and take it as a part of your learning process.
Internet Marketing runs on ACRONYMS. And specifically the data collection and analytics that makes internet marketing so successful has a bunch of Internet Marketing terms that you should get familiar with. This will help you not just in reading and learning Digital marketing faster but make you get respected when you talk to fellow Digital Marketers or your boss or your clients.
Let us now look into the digital marketing glossary that you should know as a beginner.
1. Page Load Speed
Simply put, page load speed (as knows as page load time) is a average time it takes for the website to fully load on the browser. A user can go the website by clicking on a link on the search engine results page or on a referring website, or by manually typing the website url on the browser search bar.
As a Digital Marketer, understanding Page Load Speed is crucial and you would work with a developer to keep optimizing the page load time. You can check a website’s page load speed on Google Page Speed Insights tool
2. Dwell Time
Dwell Time is nothing but an average of time spent by users on your website. Higher the dwell time, better it is for your website as search engines (especially, Google) prefers to rank websites which gets users to spend more time on the content.
Dwell Time is a barometer of quality of your content, product/service or website. Dwell is also sometimes referred to (for ease of understanding for clients) as Average Time Spent on the Website.
3. Bounce Rate
Bounce rate is the number of users who land on the website and exist without checking any other page other than the landing page.
Higher bounce rates means the content on the website is not convincing enough to get users to click on other pages of the website. High Page load time also increases the bounce rate as users exit the website if it takes too much time to load.
4. Landing Page
Landing page is the page on the website that you get your users to visit when they click on the ad or your organic listing on the search engine results page.
The quality of your landing page experience will decide whether users take the action you desire users to take. Optimizing the landing page experience would be a critical elements of your Digital Marketing strategy.
Search Engine Results Page in short form is known as SERP. You would use this online marketing term often if you take the SEO expert as your career option.
However, as a Digital Marketer, you are expected to be aware of the important not only to understand the ecosystem but also to co-ordinate with other type of digital marketer speciialists.
Cost per click, in short form, is known as CPC. In simple terms, cost you pay to get one click on your ad is captured by CPC as a metric.
This is one of the key metric you will use to analyze the performance of your ad campaigns. The formula to calculate CPC is: Total AD Spend On A Campaign / Number of Clicks.
For example: If you spend $1000 in an ad campaign and get 100 clicks, your CPC for that campaign is $10.
CPC can be calculated at Account level, Campaign level, Ad group/Ad set level, and Ad level
CPM is Cost per 1000 Impressions, which means cost you pay to get 1000 impressions of an Ad.
CPM is an important metric to understand the cost of reach of your Ad. If it costs you more to reach your audience, it will impact all your ad performance metrics, like CPC, CPA, CPL, etc
8. Ad Frequency
If users sees your ad on an average 5 times in a day, it means your ad frequency is 5.
The formula to calculate Ad Frequency is: Total Impression / Total Reach
This metric is important to ensure your ad is not shown to the users multiples times during the day. Higher the Ad frequency, more likely that you will end up paying higher CPCs for your ad.
Higher Ad frequency can also mean that your audience size is small due to which each user is being shown Ad multiple times in a day.
CTR is a short form for Click-Through Rate. This is a key metric of ad performance on any ad platform.
Simply put, CTR is the percentage of clicks over impressions. It is calculated as: (Number of Clicks/Number of Impressions)*100)
Higher the CTR% of your Ad, it means more users are finding your ad relevant for them. CTR% is the metric to calculate the ad quality and ad relevance.
Cost per action is the metric to measure the cost you are paying to get the desired action. The action you may want user to take are submit a form, buy a product, pay for a service, subscribe to a newsletter, etc.
To optimize your CPA (meaning to reduce the cost per action), you would need to work on the CPC and CPM of your ads.
These are the top Digital Marketing terms to know as a beginner. Once you understand these terms, it would be easier for you to start your digital marketing career with relative ease. At the same time, you would be able to analyze your digital marketing campaigns and drive insights from the data.